I am really sick of being sick on Metformin.  I was willing to deal with the nausea and fatigue when I was so desperate for a baby, but now that I have one, it’s just too much to handle on a daily basis and while caring for a 16 month old toddler.  I feel like a bad mother when I feel too sick to do the kinds of activities that make having a child really fun.  More than anything though, I cannot be fully present in my role as mother and that is not alright with me.  After a tearful discussion with my husband, we’ve decided to stop our plans for another child right now, at least through the conventional fertility route.  I want to refocus my sights on actually healing the very root of the reasons for my fertility problems to start with.  I am going to enlist a mix of different natural modalities plus lifestyle changes to hopefully regain health, regular menstruation, and ultimately my fertility.  This is an account of my six month PCOS experiment.  To know more about my story, see the About section.

Here is what has happened so far:

8/22/10 – Decided on my new plan and stopped Metformin

8/23/10 – 117 lbs

exercise – pushed stroller at a good clip for 30 minutes, cleaned out 1/2 of backyard flower bed

mind – finished a book I’ve been trying to read for months, talked to mother about not TTC anymore, took a natural salt bath during nap time

food:

breakfast – tea with milk, 2 scrambled eggs and 2 chicken breakfast sausages

lunch – lentil soup with veggies, salad with veggies/cheese/vinaigrette

snacks – 1/2 cup low-fat cottage cheese, 1/2 Bumble bar, 8oz apple juice, 1/2 plum, handful roasted cashews

dinner – 6 jumbo grilled shrimp, sauteed asparagus, lentil soup

