I’ve been doing this experiment for a week now, and can say that I really like the path my life is on.  It’s the way I wanted things all along, but I could not achieve it for many reasons. I feel like I seized this opportunity at the perfect time and I am grateful for the stroke of inspiration that fueled this decision.  What else could I accomplish if I were to act on my inspirations more often?  I also feel like I am finally taking advantage of having the privilege of being a stay at home Mom.  It took a lot of personal sacrifice to make staying at home with Jude a reality, but I have not been able to fully embrace it lately.  When you are not feeling well, caring for a child all day feels more like a life sentence.  After a week, my hypoglycemia seems to be better and I need fewer snacks to feel ok with the lower carb diet.  I am also not running to my emergency Bumble Bar sweet like I was at the beginning of last week.

We finally traded out Jude’s bottle for a sippy full time yesterday and it was extremely trying.  Both my husband and I had a hard time listening to our son scream and cry and basically beg for his “ba-ba” – something that we would have once been happy to get for him.  The problem is that Jude is drinking a lot of milk via a baby bottle, to the exclusion of his meals and he is quite thin for his age and height.  I knew we needed to make this transition for a while now, but I did not feel strong enough to do it.  I made up my mind that Sunday would be the day and we were able to get through it without caving in.  I feel so relieved and proud that it’s done and this experiment is responsible for part of it.

Exercise – 30 minutes of fast strolling and 1 hour at “open gym” time at Gymboree.

Mind/Body – Took a 20 minute soak in an Epsom salt bath to help my sore back that I got from swimming this weekend.  It felt so good that I was able to really relax and breathe in the lavender and geranium essential oils that I added.  I was also able to fit in a short nap before Jude woke from his nap.  I fell asleep after getting through a few pages of a good book. I woke up feeling happy and re-energized.  I really love this midday mommy retreat.

Diet – 114.5 lbs.

Breakfast – 2 fried eggs, 2 chicken breakfast sausages, 1 large scoop cottage cheese

Lunch – Huge salad with veggies, cheese, and fruit.  Leftover beans/corn/pepper medley.

Dinner – Two broiled lamb chops with mint pesto, 1/3 of a baked sweet potato with cheese, butter, and green onions, sauteed baby spinach with garlic and lemon

Snacks – 1/8th cup edamame, 1/2 plum, cashews,  1/8th Bumble Bar.

