I finished Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food today and I feel very fortunate to say that I am able to put into practice most of the “food rules” that he recommends at the end of the book on a daily basis.  Maybe I feel like counting my blessings today, but both being a stay at home Mom AND finally having a child that is self-sufficient enough to give me the time to cook, allow me to feed myself and my family in the best way I know how.  I cannot overstate the level of satisfaction this gives me.  It takes a lot of planning, preparation, and oh so much money, but eating well is one of the things in life that I hold most dear.

My acne reached a fevered pitch over the weekend and thankfully is on the way back down to normal.  I had not anticipated how powerfully my supplements would stir my hormones.  I don’t think my face will get markedly better until I reach some sort of stasis – and I don’t foresee that happening any time soon.  There will be lots of up and downs before balance is achieved.  I mean, my top goal for this experiment is to just have a real cycle.  Having a totally balanced cycle without major hormonal fluctuations is another story.  I will have to be patient for that.

Exercise – 30 minutes of Crunch: Burn and Firm Pilates with 3 lb. weights.

Mind/Body – Got to finish reading my book in a hot bath.  I added Clary Sage essential oils today, which I bought this past weekend.  It’s one of the oils that are often recommended for female balancing.

Diet – 116 lbs.

Breakfast – black/green/spearmint tea with milk, 2 fried eggs, 2 chicken breakfast sausages, 1 scoop cottage cheese.

Lunch – Huge salad with veggies, cheese, avocado, roasted chicken, fruit, and homemade apple cider vinaigrette – with multi-grain crackers and water with a splash of apricot nectar.

Dinner – sirloin meatloaf made with lots of veggies, side of crock-pot bean medley sauteed with baby spinach and raisins.

Snacks – multi-grain crackers and cheese slice, 1/2 grapefruit, cottage cheese, green/spearmint tea with milk, chai tea with milk.

