I’ve never had a major sweet tooth, but I’ve most definitely been addicted to carbohydrates most of my life.  When I was young, my parents actually called me the “Carb Queen” because I would always select just a few starchy side dishes, a dessert, and a roll at our favorite cafeteria restaurant, and call that a meal.  My brother and I would eat a large stack of frozen waffles with syrup for breakfast most mornings in our childhood.  As I learned to cook, I would make biscuits and white cream gravy instead.  When I became a teenager, and thus a vegetarian, I gorged on incredibly large servings of pasta and french fries.  Protein?…who needs it?!  After I learned about PCOS and insulin resistance, I tried at various times to lower my carbohydrate intake with diets, but they were all too harsh and I went into withdrawal and always quit the diet because I could not function.  I feel like the diet portion of this PCOS experiment is the perfect compromise.  I get to eat small portions of slow converting, whole, unrefined carbohydrates to prevent the symptoms of hypoglycemia and then fruit to satisfy sweet cravings.  After a full month of doing this experiment I feel like I have beaten my addiction to carbs as I no longer think about them or crave them – same with sugar.  I’ve never gotten so far in a lifestyle change before.  I feel so very accomplished.

Exercise – 30 minutes of Crunch: Burn and Firm Pilates DVD with 3 lb. weights

Mind/Body – Decided to ditch Fast Food nation and start reading the James Herriot books again, which I always find inspiring and sweet.  I soaked in a hot, Epsom salt bath with lavender essential oils while I read.

Diet – 115 lbs.

Breakfast – small latte, 2 fried eggs, 2 chicken breakfast sausages, 1 scoop cottage cheese

Lunch – leftover Mediterranean veggies, roast, peas, and lima beans

Dinner – Pork loin with Vidalia onion and grapes, roasted Portobello mushroom cap with herbs/garlic/cheese, green peas.

Snacks – multi-grain crackers and cheese, 1/2 grapefruit, cashews, cottage cheese, handful raw almonds, 1/4 Bumble Bar

