Read a really chilling piece about the state of the environment on my husband’s website this morning.  With a lump in my throat, it got me thinking about what I just read in Michael Pollan’s book, In defense of Food.  He makes several arguments about how food that is the most healthy for humans is also the food that negatively impacts the planet the least.  When I originally read this, I just nodded my head, taking his word for it.  But today, I remembered the grocery lists that I have been making weekly to get the food necessary for my PCOS diet.  Before the diet, and while feeling ill on Metformin, the packaged products in the center of the store made up the bulk of my shopping.  Now the list is comprised of mostly organic produce with little or no packaging.  Like the article highlights, I know and intellectually understand that there is an environmental crisis, but acting on it has always escaped me beyond the customary recycling, etc.  Choosing to eat well for health is also a vote for the ecological health of the planet.  Knowing this and seeing it in action encourages me to make more changes (more locally grown food, reusable produce bags).  You can’t argue with a win win situation.

Back at the ranch, the teething hell is deeper yet today.  Mama finally got in a workout (a new one that kicked my ass) after trying to get Jude to nap for 2 hours, but that was just about all of the nap he could stand and he started crying after about 35 minutes.  I did not get my lunch until almost 4 pm.  Surprisingly, even with an intense workout, I did not get low blood sugar shakes and become non-functional.  I would have passed out just a few weeks ago.

Exercise – First 30 minutes (mainly cardio) of Self: Slim and Sleek Fast DVD.

Mind/Body – I was not able to enjoy any alone time for relaxation today.  Instead, I did a little healing visualization while I was rocking Jude before his nap. I imagined my Endocrine System as an engine that was being started and that settled into a perfect idle.  For some reason I think of it in these terms when I read about it.  I also meditated about how it would feel to be healed from PCOS, trying to fully enjoy the accomplishment, even before it happens.

Diet – 115 lbs.

Breakfast – small iced latte, 2 fried eggs, 2 chicken breakfast sausages, 1 scoop of cottage cheese

Lunch – Huge salad with leftover grilled shrimp from last night, veggies, fruit, cheese, and avocado with homemade apple cider vinaigrette and multi-grain crackers.

Dinner – Leftover meatloaf, broccoli in cheese sauce, green peas, and a tiny bit of bean medley.  Tequila gimlet with mango (1/2 jigger) – I’m a total lightweight.

Snacks – multi-grain crackers, a few bites of mango, a handful of raw almonds, 1 slice organic cheese, green/spearmint tea with milk

