When I started working with my first acupuncturist in 2006, I was experiencing anxiety and sleep problems (in addition to amenorrhea and other PCOS issues).  She suggested soaking in a bath with a few handfuls of Epsom salt (around 2 cups) and 25 drops of lavender essential oil.  She explained how the Magnesium contained in Epsom salt would absorb through my skin and help calm my nerves and help me relax.  And the lavender is a powerful relaxation aromatherapy essence and is good for hormone balancing.  I gave it a try and could feel the difference right away.  It elicited such a relaxing feeling in me that the bathtub is where I started doing my daily meditation and down time.  Gradually, in conjunction with ongoing acupuncture and Traditional Chinese herb tea, I was able to overcome my daily anxiety and I began to sleep soundly again.  I’ve gone back to this therapy many times over the years and it never fails.  I mix it up some days with other essential oils.  Clary Sage and Geranium are referenced all over the internet for female hormonal balancing.  I have a nice little variety to choose from daily.

Interested to know more about Epsom salt, I just found a really interesting website sponsored by the Epson Salt Council explaining all that Epsom salt can do for the body.  Now that I am working out almost every day, it seems to really help with muscle soreness.  I’m also amazed to see possible health benefits for those suffering with PCOS, including improving insulin sensitivity.  No wonder it makes me feel so good!

Researchers and physicians report that raising your magnesium levels may:
•    Improve heart and circulatory health, reducing irregular heartbeats, preventing hardening of the arteries, reducing blood clots and lowering blood pressure.
•    Improve the body’s ability to use insulin, reducing the incidence or severity of diabetes.
•    Flush toxins and heavy metals from the cells, easing muscle pain and helping the body to eliminate harmful substances.
•    Improve nerve function by regulating electrolytes. Also, calcium is the main conductor for electrical current in the body, and magnesium is necessary to maintain proper calcium levels in the blood.
•    Relieve stress. Excess adrenaline and stress are believed to drain magnesium, a natural stress reliever, from the body. Magnesium is necessary for the body to bind adequate amounts of serotonin, a mood-elevating chemical within the brain that creates a feeling of well being and relaxation.

http://www.epsomsaltcouncil.org/about_better_health_through_soaking.htm

