I’m proud of myself for using this weekend to continue my experiment rather than using it as an excuse to fall of the wagon.  Traditional diets, ones that are based on restriction and scarcity, often have “cheat” days where you “reward” yourself with foods that are bad for you.  By now, I feel like the diet portion of this PCOS experiment has become a way of life.  I don’t feel like rewarding myself with foods that I know undermine the work I’ve done so far.  They don’t even seem appetizing.  Nothing tastes as good as total health feels.  I’ve gotten a taste of total health lately, and I want more.

I was able to take some time this weekend to write up two posts that I had been wanting to for a while.  One is about my favorite way to relax, in a hot bath with Epsom salt and essential oils.  With a little more research, it seems that Epsom salt also may help underlying PCOS health concerns, such as insulin resistance.  The other is about the supplement I take called Gymnema 4g, an herb that has been used for centuries to help regulate blood sugar.  I credit it for my now month long adherence to the lower carb, PCOS diet and my diminishing hypoglycemia, carb and sugar cravings.  Both definitely worth a read:

https://melissacottonwomack.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/gymnema-helps-regulate-my-blood-sugar/

https://melissacottonwomack.wordpress.com/2010/09/25/epsom-salt-bath-with-essential-oils/

Exercise – Took the day off.

Mind/Body – Was able to sneak in a hot, highly concentrated Epsom salt bath with lavender essential oil.  Read more about vet life on the Yorkshire dales.

Diet – 115 lbs.

Breakfast – green/spearmint tea with milk, 2 fried eggs, 2 chicken breakfast sausages, 1 scoop of cottage cheese

Lunch – Huge salad with roasted chicken, veggies, fruit, cheese, avocado – Multi-grain crackers

Dinner – 1/2 large, grilled NY strip steak with a pat of fresh herb butter, 1/2 roasted acorn squash with agave/butter/cinnamon and sauteed Swiss Chard with thinly sliced and browned garlic and fresh nutmeg.  A very small glass of red wine.

Snacks – Multi-grain crackers and a slice of organic cheese, 1/2 grapefruit and a handful of raw almonds, green/spearmint tea with milk

