I’ve now completed the second month of my PCOS experiment.  Building on the momentum I started during the first month, I’ve made even more progress.  Beginning at about the 6 week mark, I began to start actually looking forward to exercise and I know now that I can call working-out a habit.  This has fulfilled a lifelong goal of incorporating regular exercise into my life, something I have never been successful with ever before.  On the odd day that I am not able to work-out, I really miss it!

My body has continued to get firmer and smaller, despite not losing any additional pounds.  I can easily see and feel muscle definition in all muscle groups of my body.   I can now safely say that it IS possible to gain muscle and lose fat at the same time and not have the scale budge at all.  Some online sources say that women could never build muscle fast enough to have this happen, but as we all know by now, women with PCOS are different!  See my body measurement comparison below if you don’t believe me.   I only started taking my body measurements on 10/7/10, a little over 2 weeks ago, so my results are not complete for the month report, but I will measure monthly for the remainder of this experiment.  I was astonished by my preliminary results though!

One of the biggest developments has been in regards to the way my abdomen looks and feels after meals.  My post-meal bloat had really improved during the first month, but this month things have gotten even better.  I can eat a full meal without my stomach swelling at all or appearing thicker.   I would often look pregnant after eating before starting this experiment and this would adversely affect my self-esteem on a daily basis.  This problem is completely gone and I’m going to wager a guess that it’s because I am healing my insulin resistance since central weight gain is a common symptom.  See the reduction in my waist measurements below.

The other most pronounced change that has happened this month is an almost complete recovery from my daily bouts of hypoglycemia.  I read an interesting article on inCyst.com that finally explained to me how my hypoglycemia is related to PCOS.  I had always thought that Cysters were supposed to be fighting high blood sugar and so my own low blood sugar was a mystery to me.  Here’s a little excerpt from the article.  “One of the first things that happens with PCOS, before you develop full blown insulin resistance, is hyperinsulinemia (elevated insulin levels).  This extra insulin is always in the blood, which means you may have more of a tendency than average to experience drops in blood glucose.” Now that I know how it all works,  I feel an even greater sense of accomplishment that I have taken a step in reducing my increased risk for diabetes.

I have continued to feel stronger emotionally and my ability to handle stress well has increased more this month.  I am able to handle many tasks at once and juggle the demands of being a mom with my own health and wellness needs.  It’s been a very difficult month for my son and without this experiment to keep me on track, I might have thrown in the towel a handful of times.

Let’s take a look back at the success criteria for this 6 month experiment, noting my progress:

1) Ovulation and Menstruation – I have not detected ovulation yet based on taking my basal temperatures each morning.  I have had major ovarian twinges and sharp pains a few times this month along with other ovulation signs and symptoms, but for some reason, my body just cannot do it.  I’ve also had a few days throughout this month where I have had some very light spotting, but no period.  I’ve never had any sort of spotting before that was not associated with my period, so this is quite unusual.  We are still actively trying to stimulate ovulation at acupuncture each week along with taking my supplement regimen to regulate my cycles.  This goal is still a work in progress.

2) Stable weight and body measurements – I have maintained my weight (within a 1-2 lb. fluctuation) the entire month and my body measurements have only gone down, which obviously I don’t mind.  My mid-section is not bloated and I have been able to wear the same size (or smaller) clothing throughout the month.  This goal is more than accomplished!

3) Little or no acne – Last month I was experiencing quite bad hormonal chin acne for the first time in my life, but after my acupuncturist added B6-Niacinamide to my supplement regimen on 9/28/10, that has stopped.  I am still breaking out like usual on various areas of my face though.  I wrote an acne blog post earlier this month, on 10/10, where I talk about all of the natural remedies that I’m experimenting with to help my acne.  I will be updating that post with more in depth progress in a few weeks.  Again, I think I will probably not see major improvement in my acne until I have a regular cycle, and that might still be a while.  This goal is still a work in progress.

4) Stable and positive emotions – Considering what a stressful and complicated month it’s been, I have come through on the other side of it as strong and confident as ever.  This new found positivity is gaining momentum and I’m able to have a good day even when things are not technically going well externally.  I still need to work on occasional angry and bitchy hormonal outbursts, but I have faith that these will resolve completely before long.   I am going to call this goal accomplished for now!

Body Measurements:

1) Natural waist:
a- 27″ on 10/7
b- 26″ on 10/23

2) Lower abdomen (around fattest part of tummy):
a- 32″on 10/7
b- 29 1/2″ on 10/23

3) Lower hips (around largest part of butt):
a- 35.75″ on 10/7
b- 35″ on 10/23

4) Individual thigh circumference (around thickest part of one thigh):
a- 20 3/4″ on 10/7
b- 19 3/4″ on 10/23

