Writing from the backyard today while Jude plays.  It’s a wonderfully cool morning in Austin.

I have had an interest in the whole spirituality/self-help book genre for many years now, and I particularly found these books to be helpful and comforting in the grief filled days following the loss of our precious first baby and the many months of infertility following.  I’ve been revisiting a few of these books lately, enjoying a chapter as I soak in the tub after my work-outs, and I’m struck at how different they read in my now, post-Jude’s birth, life.  I have read the Power of Intention by Dr. Wayne Dyer three times now.  The first time while I was still working in an office in NYC and having work conflicts.  The second time was when we were trying to conceive again after loss.  I just finished the book for the third time, and this round I read it with this experiment and my PCOS health goals in mind.  I don’t think I’ve ever been in such a good place when reading it and it seems to have better soaked in, like I was finally ready for it.  I think it’s natural to seek guidance when going through a hard time in life, and those are the times that I reach out for my books and self-care aids.  Then once I am over that problem, I kind of forget about it all.  This is the first time in my life that I am incorporating all of my tools (books, meditation, exercise, being outdoors, whole/clean eating, aromatherapy, etc.) in my regular, old, non-crisis life.  It feels like adding the right accessories to an outfit – the perfect and beautiful little additions that makes life worth living.  These are the things that keep a Mommy from blending right into the Elmo colored background.

Exercise – The Trainer’s Edge: Integrated Strength Training with Jeffrey Scott, about 40 minutes with 3 lb. weights.

Mind/Body – Just as I was reclining in an Epsom salt bath, Jude bust into the bathroom crying and looking for me.  He was content to play in the bubbles for a while, so I got a little more soaking time, but my me time was pretty short today.

Diet – 113.5 lbs (lost a few from my cold)

Breakfast – black/green/spearmint tea with milk, 2 fried eggs, 2 chicken breakfast sausages, 1 scoop cottage cheese

Lunch – chicken/veggie soup with multi-grain crackers

Dinner – leftovers: salmon croquettes, asparagus, roasted leeks/fennel/beets, lamb stew

Snacks – 1/2 plum and handful of raw almonds, green/spearmint tea with milk

