Three months are now completed in this PCOS Experiment!  This month the experiment went from a highly regimented plan to a sustainable way of life.  I’ve been so self-disciplined since this experiment began that I no longer felt the need to record my progress daily, and so I ditched my daily format.  I was feeling stressed until I could stop and type out everything I had eaten for the day, and with a toddler, finding the time was getting tough.  The new, free-form blogging is much better suited to where I am in my progress.

I decided to take my exercise requirements down just a slight notch, from 5-6 days a week to working out every other day, alternating cardio and strength/resistance training.  I also started adding in a little bit more complex carbohydrates in the form of gluten free rolled oats a few mornings a week.  I made these changes in the hopes that I will be able to not only finish this six month experiment, but to keep it going for the rest of my life.  I’ve been afraid of burning out as things in my life become more complicated and prevent me from adhering to a strict lifestyle.  I have only seen the scale go down since I made these amendments to the original plan.  I started the month a solid 115 lbs and now I’m seeing the scale hover around 113 lbs most mornings.   I’ve continued to find my clothing slowly getting looser and more comfortable.   I just did my body measurements since the last monthly report and I have dropped more inches (see below).  Wow, that is satisfying to see!

Since last month I’ve noticed my weight being less vulnerable to restaurant meals and changes in my diet.  This weight stability gives me a lot of confidence when we do have a family dinner out or I want a glass of wine or a square of dark chocolate as a treat.  I might have seen the damage to the scale a few months back, but I have come far enough now that it’s no longer a problem.  I’m assuming it’s because I have raised my metabolism and healed a fair amount of insulin resistance.  The other more noticeable change since last month is the appearance of my face.  I have a quite naturally fleshy/full type face and even at times of being thin, it looked chubby, especially in photos.  I can see the reduction in puffiness and fullness in the mirror and can see it in photos too.  What an awesome and unexpected side effect of this experiment!

Since I am not reporting on my diet and lifestyle daily anymore, I want to give a synopsis of the things I am still currently doing on a weekly basis to help control my PCOS symptoms and to help my body heal.  I continue to add a splash of apple cider vinegar to every glass of water I drink.  I have half a grapefruit several days a week.  I drink green and spearmint tea once or twice a day.  I work out every other day, doing both cardio and strength training.  I go to acupuncture once a week.  I try to reserve a few minutes a day for a relaxing bath, usually with Epsom salts and essential oils.  I’m still eating very cleanly, with an emphasis on low carbohydrates and whole foods.  I eat small snacks that contain protein in between meals to keep my blood sugar stable.  I take a wide range of daily supplements prescribed by my acupuncturist to help my body heal my PCOS.  I record all info about my supplements here, including changes as they occur, and there is lots of change monthly.

So, I guess we should take a look back at the success criteria for this 6 month experiment, noting my progress since last month:

1) Ovulation and Menstruation – This month I started having almost daily fertile signs and symptoms which has lead both my acupuncturist and myself to believe that I am now experiencing some Estrogen Dominance (a build up of estrogen that is never balanced by progesterone because of the lack of ovulation).  I started experimenting with a saliva microscope and it shows that I am in the presence of increased estrogen every time I use it.  A week ago, I started back on Symplex F for two weeks to try to stimulate ovulation.  I had my first high temperature this morning, so this is not proof of ovulation, but a girl can hope.  Suffice it to say, this goal is an ever evolving work in progress.

2) Stable weight and body measurements – Overwhelmingly, this goal has been met and exceeded!  I started this experiment at 117 lbs, went down to 115 lbs for a while, and I’m now around 113 lbs consistently.  My abdomen is pretty darn flat and not reactive to eating.  See my reduction in body measurements below.

3) Little or no acne – I’ve experienced both total clarity and an upsurge in acne at different points this month.  I had not experienced a completely clear face at any point in the months prior, so I would say that I have had at least some success in this department.  When I don’t fuss about and pick or squeeze on my face and keep it clean and doctored up with my various acne preparations, I can now have relatively clear skin.  Even with that though, I still had some breakthrough pimples that surfaced no matter what I did to prevent them.  This goal, while I’ve seen moderate improvement, is still a work in progress.

4) Stable and positive emotions – Like my acne progress I spoke about above, my emotional health has been both very good and wavering at times as well.  I’ve had some mild depression and reduction in motivation in regards to this experiment during this month, but I really think I solved this problem by changing the parameters of this experiment as I mentioned earlier.  My self-assurance and confidence has been quite good and I have felt more like reaching out to people and less introverted.  I am going to call this goal accomplished for now, especially since I’m no longer dealing with rocky emotions on a daily basis, just in isolated drips and drabs.

Body Measurements:

1) Natural waist:
a- 27″ on 10/7
b- 26″ on 10/23
c- 25″ on 11/23

2) Lower abdomen (around fattest part of tummy):
a- 32″on 10/7
b- 29 1/2″ on 10/23
c – 28 1/2″ on 11/23

3) Lower hips (around largest part of butt):
a- 35 3/4″ on 10/7
b- 35″ on 10/23
c- 33 3/4″ on 11/23

4) Individual thigh circumference (around thickest part of one thigh):
a- 20 3/4″ on 10/7
b- 19 3/4″ on 10/23
c – 18 3/4″ on 11/23

