While I was waiting for the D-Chiro-Inositol to arrive from Australia, my acupuncturist put me on regular inositol (called myo-inositol).  I did quite a bit of research into myo-inositol and is has been found to really help with OCD and panic/anxiety disorders, in addition to increasing insulin sensitivity (the main reason why I’m taking it).  I’ve had issues with OCD-ish type issues and anxiety before, off and on throughout my life, so I took it upon myself to increase the dosage from 6 tablets at 400 mg each/day to 9 tablets which is getting closer to the 4-20 gram therapeutic dosage for OCD.  I mean, why not kill two birds with one stone since I am taking it anyway, right?  Over the next few days after starting the myo-inositol, I noticed that I was spending less time in the mirror, inspecting my acne and grungy pores, and I was resisting the urge to pick and squeeze.  My face miraculously cleared up, except for a scant few spots making me realize that my acne is really not as bad as it seems.  I am actually creating some or most of the problem myself.  This last Saturday though, the DCI arrived and I stopped taking the myo-inositol, forgetting the effortless improvement in my self-caused acne.  Since that time I have gradually started feeling more anxious (with no real cause) and I have found myself scrutinizing my pores in the mirror more than I would like, and sadly, my face is looking bad again.  It just dawned on me that stopping the myo-inositol is to blame and started it back up again today.  I actually just found a really great article from Incyst.com, explaining the use of inositol (both DCI and myo-inositol) for PCOS and when and why women might need both.  Fascinating.  I will report back in a few days if adding the myo-inositol helps me again.  It will be a valuable experiment for me.

