A Change of Plans…

Whether it is justified or not, I’ve reached the point where I am getting a little anxious about my progress in this experiment.   I’ve given my current supplement regimen 3+ months and I just don’t feel like we’re (my acupuncturist and I) on the right track.  When I first started doing acupuncture, way back in 2006, my practitioner was fairly traditional and I boiled a weekly tea made from Chinese herbs that I would procure from China Town in NYC every 4-5 days.  It was only then that my stubborn amenorrhea and anovulation came to an end.  Heck, I even became pregnant naturally, although it was not with a healthy egg.  After we moved away from NYC, I’ve tried several other acupuncturists, but have never gotten the same benefits as I did originally.  I brought all of this up to my current acupuncturist and she agreed that it was time to shake things up, so as of yesterday, I have gone back to taking Chinese herbs.  For starters, she has put me on a Nourish Ren & Chong Formula (Jia Wei Gui Shao Di Huang Wan) plus a few other herbs for yin deficiency.  It’s been fun reading up on the different herbs and their usages.  I’m not about to begin to understand the intricacies of Traditional Chinese Medicine, but I do know that it worked for me before, so I have faith that it will work for me again.

In addition, I will continue to take Chaste Tree (Vitex), NAC, myo-inositol, D-Chiro-Inositol, Gymnema, fish oils, antioxidant blend, and lots of daily supplements for general health and illness prevention during cold and flu season.  Everything else about this experiment remains the same – diet, exercise, etc.

