I suppose no news is good news in the pregnant world.  I am 36 weeks today and so I hypothetically have somewhere around 4 more weeks to go, give or take a few.  The third trimester has been long and hard with lots of daily ouchies, back aches, and that classic “bowling ball hanging between your legs” feeling.  Whomever said that subsequent pregnancies were tougher on the old bod was right!  Everything seems much more stretched out and my frame less stable and able to support it all.

One issue I have not talked about yet is a low lying placenta that was discovered at my 20 weeks anatomy scan.  The perinatologist doing my scan assured me that these things typically stretch up and out of the way as the uterus gets bigger and bigger, but I would need to come back in 2 months for another ultrasound to see the status.  Two months later there was no improvement and I got pretty nervous at that point.  There is nothing inherently dangerous about a merely low lying placenta, as opposed to a partial or full placenta previa, but if it did not clear the edges of my cervix by my third trimester, I would be facing a c-section with no questions asked.  I went back one month later, and thanks to the heavens, the placenta was way out of the way.  Crisis averted!

Because I avoided Gestation Diabetes this time, I will not be induced as a result.  I would love to have the opportunity to go into labor on my own this time, just so I get to have that experience too.  However, that means that I don’t have a date that I am preparing for like last time.  The control freak in me wants to have my hair and nails freshly done and everything I could possibly need and want packed and done as I leave for the hospital, but I don’t see how this is possible.  This will be a lesson in loosening my grip on control like everything else, I guess.

Next week I start going back to my acupuncturist so she can help my body start gearing up for labor and delivery.  I did this at the end of my pregnancy with Jude because I was not effacing or dilating or ripening at all as I approached my induction date, and that usually spells cesarean section with a capital C.  Even at my last OB visit, everything was still clamped down, but when I got to the hospital (and two emergency acupuncture visits later), things were much more favorable.  I was able to have a completely successful and uneventful induction, labor, and vaginal delivery.  In addition to the acupuncture, I will start taking 3 caps of Evening Primrose oil and drinking a few cups of red raspberry leaf tea daily to naturally prepare my body for what’s ahead.

I will leave you guys with a pic I took this morning.  Yes, things are getting quite horizontal in the belly department by this point.  When you are only 5 feet tall, there is nowhere to go but out!   I’m hoping my next post will be all about my healthy and happy delivery and new baby boy.  Wish me luck!!

